Lier Mental Hospital (NOR)

These are a collection of pictures from the mental hospital in Lier, Norway, built in 1920. Because of it’s fame, not only in the UE-community but also in the general public, and considering the fact that it will soon be demolished, I couldn’t be bothered with keeping the location secret. Since winter is right around the corner, my friend and I decided we should make this trip as soon as possible. In addition to visiting the hospital, we also took the trip to an abandoned nursing home.

Considering the fact that the hospital has been shut down since 1985, it’s obvious that it has been a victim of a tremendous amount of vandalism. In my opinion, despite all the vandalism, it’s still a treasure.

I have to apologize for the low quality on some of the pictures, as it was quite dark, and I don’t own the right equipment for these conditions. I would rather not use the flash accompanying my DSLR, as it would likely worsen the overall quality. Because of the poor quality, I have only included four pictures from building B.

Building B (most decayed), the last building we entered.

IMG_8816

Building E, the first building we entered.

IMG_8818

IMG_8823

IMG_8829

IMG_8837

IMG_8842

IMG_8863

IMG_8870

I’m pretty fascinated by the old elevators

IMG_8875

IMG_8883

IMG_8885

Picture of building B taken from building E
IMG_8888

IMG_8891

IMG_8893

IMG_8916

IMG_8929

This room was found in the cellar, the paintings on the wall still remains

IMG_8933

IMG_8935

IMG_8937

Building B

IMG_8941

IMG_8950

IMG_8954

IMG_8970

5 comments

  1. Harald fredriksen · · Reply

    Hvor er dette? Pls Svar

    1. Hei! Overskriften sier vel hvor det er..

  2. wow this pictures are amazing. Do you remember address of this mental hospital??

    1. Hi! I wont’t leave the addess on the web. But please email me, and I’ll be happy to help!

  3. […] Lier psykiatriska sjukhus i Norge har en lång historia som institution. De sjukaste människorna i samhället stuvades undan här och gick från att vara människor till att vara testpersoner i läkemedelsindustrins jakt på nya och bättre läkemedel. De massiva byggnaderna rymmer minnet av ett dystert kapitel i norsk psykiatrihistoria som myndigheterna helst bara vill glömma. [källa] […]

Leave a comment