The Green Lantern (NOR)

The winter has arrived, and the temperature is dropping below zero, so why not spend these cold days on urban exploring? When you’re out exploring urban areas, you’ll start asking yourself questions concerning the place you’re exploring, and these questions needs answers! A huge part of urban exploring actually involves history.

This warm Saturday of December, (well.. warm considering the common Norwegian winter), my friend and I decided to visit two abandoned houses. (You can read about the other one in my latest entry,: ”Something unsettled and forgotten”). The second house we visited is a small cabin located in Oslo, near a highly trafficated highway. This was actually my second trip, because it was way too dark the first time I were here to get anything good out of it.

The fact that it’s so close to the highway, is probably the main reason as to why it was abandoned in the first place. Just about 20 years ago, this area was a place filled with peace and quiet, without a highway nor residential areas. Due to the urbanization, areas like these are being turned into suburbs and offices in great numbers each year. This means that small treasures from the past, like this little cabin, is disappearing all the time. In one or two years, I bet this cabin will be demolished in favor of apartments or industrial areas.

Anyway, here are some of the photos we took from the site. Sadly, due to the fact that all the windows are sealed, I had to use my flash inside the cabin, which might lower the quality some.

IMG_9071

IMG_9075

IMG_9081

IMG_9082
I guess the local hobos has used this cabin recently.

IMG_9083
Still paper in the dispenser

IMG_9084

IMG_9059

IMG_9060

IMG_9062

IMG_9065

IMG_9066

IMG_9068

One comment

  1. […] are some pictures from the same day we visited “The Green Lantern“. I have decided not to post pictures that contains personal items and/or pictures that can […]

Leave a comment